Posted in Recipes

Slow Cooker Sausage & Bean Casserole

This is a great quick & easy dinner to make for the whole family. There is 5 syns in the dish (depending which sausages you use) but this would be low when dividing by 4 people.

Ingredients – 

  • 1 Sachet Of Schwartz Slow Cookers Sausage & Bean Casserole Recipe Mix (5 syns)
  • 8 Slimming World Sausages ( remember to syn which sausages you use)
  • 1 Onion Diced
  • 400g Tin Chopped Tomatoes
  • 400g Tin Cannellini Beans Drained ( I used a tin of Baked Beans)
  • 125ml Cold Water
  • 2 Tbsps Tomato Puree

 

Method –

  • Spray a pan with frylight and brown sausages, once browned add to the slow cooker along with the onion & beans
  • Mix sachet mix with the tin tomatoes, water & tomato puree and the pour over sausages.
  • Pop the lid on the slow cooker and cook on LOW for 8 hrs or on high for 4 hours.

I served mine with mash and some veg but on thinking about it you could add more sausages to the pot and even some potato.

 

This dish received mixed reviews in my house …. hubby loved it, I wasn’t to sure, one daughter said it was ok and my other daughter didn’t like it !!!!

IMG_8087IMG_8088

3 thoughts on “Slow Cooker Sausage & Bean Casserole

  1. If you want to try a recipe without using a pre-made seasoning packet, I blogged a sausage casserole recently, its quite similar but I used garlic and paprika with dried herbs to season it and kidney beans. Baked beans in sausage casserole is a favourite of mine and I then wouldn’t bother adding the golden syrup from my recipe because the baked beans will counteract any bitterness from the tinned tomatoes. You could leave the chorizo out to make it less calories or syns as well
    https://carsandcooking.wordpress.com/2016/02/12/sausage-casserole/

    1. Thank you I will have a look 😀 I just liked the idea of not having to think and bunging it in one pan and the Slow Cookers sachets were all on offer in Tesco when I got them 😛

      1. Totally get where you are coming from and I’ve used them in the past, I sometimes find them a little salty for my taste these days (I have a seven your old daughter and left salt out a lot of things when she was weaned) but an offer is always tempting too!

Leave a Reply

